GraTECHtude ’12: Technologies We Appreciate Most

In the spirit of Thanksgiving, it’s time again for our annual GraTECHtude roundup, here are a few of the technologies we’re most thankful for this holiday. (And be sure to add what technology you’re most appreciative of below!)

“Though it will inevitably grow into SkyNet and come to control us all one day, I am grateful for the cloud. From effortless backups of multiple devices to file access anywhere anytime, the cloud is my technological best friend for 2012. I can’t count the number of times I’ve been thankful this year that the cloud was there for me in a pinch. And when the inevitable happens, I, for one, welcome our robot overlords. 🙂 ” – Dutch Hollis, GM Professional Services

“I am thankful for the web cams (especially the web cam iPhone apps) at the doggie boarding places so even when I am 1,000 miles away I can still see what my dog is up to and be sure he’s having fun without me.” – Chelsea Iott, Marketing Manager

“I like mobile web technologies where I can do things on the fly, get information on the fly, communicate on the fly.” – Jon Grimm, CFO

“I’m thankful for my video baby monitor. Without video I couldn’t tell if my son is mumbling and will go back to sleep, or if I need to go flip him back over and shush him back to sleep. At 4am that monitor is worth its weight in gold.”- Jerry Tapolcsanyi, Software Engineer III

“Instagram! For that wanna-be-photographer inside us all. 🙂 ” – Kim Rodia, Account Coordinator

“I am thankful for being introduced to TiVo® I’ve known about their products for a long time, but I finally took the plunge and purchased our first box. The user interface is beautiful and extremely easy to use via the app, curvy remote or online portal. Our box, the Premiere 4 allows us to record up to 4 shows at once and store up to 75 hours of all the news / cooking / home improvement and reality TV shows we want! There will never be another dispute in our house again! What makes our entertainment solution even better is the recent launch of the TiVo® Stream! The device can easily fit within your hand and allows you to stream shows to mobile devices in your home, or wirelessly transfer shows and take them on the go. For those who travel for business or pleasure, this makes trips more enjoyable. Definitely worth the small investment. – Elizabeth Huebner, Account Executive

“I’m grateful for the Back to the Future hoverboard NOT being created yet. Primarily because I would have broken my hip by now, but with all the amazing advances in phones that have consolidated many of the 1980’s and 90’s gadgets of the past, I’m happy to still have this little ditty to hang on to and dream about as all my past childhood sci-fi technologies continue to become obsolete realities of the future.” – Matt Cole, Account Executive

“The technology I’m most thankful for is the doggie cam at the place we board our dogs Zoe and Julius. When we board them for vacations, they run around in an open daycare setting all day. I can watch them on the doggie cam to see they are safe and sound. Plus, it’s so fun to watch them play!” – Janet Nabring-Stager, Account Executive

“This year I am most thankful for the White Noise app on my phone. There is no such thing as traveling ‘light’ with a newborn, but this app provided the convenience of leaving at least one bulky baby item at home in the nursery. Whether we were away for the weekend or with a noisy household of family, the soothing sounds of crashing waves or heavy rain always helps my tired/fussy baby go right to sleep.” – Erin DiMauro, Account Executive

“One of the technological advances I appreciate the most are heated car seats. Winter commuting in Northeast Ohio can be brutal, and they are often a welcomed travel companion.” – Scott Cesen, Director of Account Planning and Strategy

“The Cloud! TiVo Stream! In general: stuff getting lighter, thinner and brighter with better battery life” – Bryce Marshall, Director of Strategic Services

“I am grateful for the deeper connection that technology provides (nagging my children via text… calling my family during my morning drive to work… seeing my friends and their pets on Facebook, etc.). At the same time, I also love a long weekend away in a place with spotty cell coverage so I can truly unplug without guilt.” – Patti Renner, Director of Marketing

“I’m thankful for the Mayan calendar – it’s saving me a lot of time and money on my holiday shopping. 🙂 ” – Keir Selinsky, Information Architect

