After the Push: A Look at Post Election Emails

Casey BartoThe election is finally over. Many of us are breathing a sigh of relief as the seemingly endless stream of ads, phone calls, and campaign signs has come to a stop. Those of us in swing states seemed to have received the brunt of political efforts.
On Monday, I wrote about the email campaigns of the presidential candidates in their last push before Election Day. I received a combined 20 emails from Obama and Romney over the weekend alone, but the sending didn’t stop there. On Monday through Election Day, I received a total of 8 emails from the Romney camp. The Obama campaign followed a similar route, sending 6 emails between Monday and the end of Election Day.

Let’s take a look at a few points I observed from the key players before and after the election results were tallied.

All Quiet

Election Day is over, and so it seems are the candidates’ email campaigns. Since the end of Election Day on Tuesday, I’ve received one email from Barack Obama thanking me for all my hard work, etc. Nothing from Mitt Romney – not even a ‘thanks for your support’, which I fully expected. After all, I did receive an email from Mitt thanking me for my enthusiasm, donations, and activity. It would’ve been nice to see a “It’s over, but we can still do our part to keep America strong” kind of message to wrap of the patriotic push of his campaign.

It’s All About Data

Had Mitt had access to my site activity, past donation history, etc., he’d know that I haven’t been a very active member of his campaign, so sending me an email thanking me for all my activity and donations would have been unnecessary.

Obama’s campaign stuck to the same strategy of addressing me as ‘friend’ even though they had my first and last name.

Interestingly, Time Magazine reports on the Obama campaign’s use of big data to encourage and interact with its audience. In fact, Obama’s campaign believed that its use of data gave it the edge over Romney’s efforts.

“Over the first 18 months, the campaign started over, creating a single massive system that could merge the information collected from pollsters, fundraisers, field workers and consumer databases as well as social-media and mobile contacts with the main Democratic voter files in the swing states,” reports Time. “…A large portion of the cash raised online came through an intricate, metric-driven e-mail campaign in which dozens of fundraising appeals went out each day. Here again, data collection and analysis were paramount. Many of the e-mails sent to supporters were just tests, with different subject lines, senders and messages.”

Digital Activity

Both Romney and Obama’s Twitter accounts have been silent since Election Day. The Obama campaign appears to have consistently tweeted throughout election night, posting photos, etc. Romney’s camp seems to have stopped tweeting during the evening of election as the results came in.

It’s interesting to see both candidates’ websites have been updated with ‘thank you’ art, but for Romney’s campaign, that thanks hasn’t been extended via email or Twitter. Both sides did a solid job of digital marketing – Romney’s cadence and personalization in contrast to Obama’s use of Big Data to give him an edge. It will be interesting to track the advancements made by both the RNC and DNC in preparation for the next run to the White House in 2016.

What are your thoughts on the digital efforts of the candidates? Let us know below!

