A New Prescription for Digital

Patti RennerTechnology today has introduced some interesting medical advancements to help enhance our digital lifestyles. I’ve heard of iPhones carved into prosthetic limbs, Bluetooth receivers as implants, iPods graphed onto people’s bodies. I’m actually currently a test subject for an advancement that’s far more practical and perhaps a bit less gruesome. And so far, I love it.
Because I’m what analysts describe as a “hyper-connected digital consumer,” frankly, I never knew what to do with my glasses – on my nose for working on my laptop… on my forehead to check email on my phone… on the coffee table when surfing on my tablet at home… in my purse (of course) for photo opportunities. Headaches and eye irritation forced me back to my optometrist for a quick check up.

While I waited in the lobby, answering email from my phone, my doctor saw me working. We started chatting about the impact of digital device use on your eyes and the impact of multiple screens on a daily basis. Our eyes today sometimes have a difficult time compensating for the higher demands of focus, especially when adjusting for backlit screens of digital devices. And apparently when we’re engrossed in screen views we blink less, which causes increased eye fatigue. Fun fact: We blink to relax our eyes. When we look at a distance, our eyes blink about 18 times a minute in contrast to blinking just 6 times a minute when viewing handheld devices. Less blinking means less rest for the weary eyes.
Instead of batting my lashes constantly as I work, I instead accepted her offer to be a guinea pig and test out a new lens designed specifically for people like me, who are always connected by device. One month into the test trial and I have to say I’m impressed. I don’t have the irritation… I don’t have to rest my eyes when I get home from the office… and the best part is that I know where my glasses are – on my face – no matter what I’m doing (except for photo sessions, of course). With a tilt of the head, the lenses adapt to the screen environment of the moment. Pretty cool.

While others have shared insights on medical advancements to enhance our digital lifestyles, having something as simple as eyeglasses that adjust to the screen you’re using (or not using) seems to be the right idea at the right moment. Now back to work.

