More Bridal Lessons for Email Marketers

Casey BartoAs my wedding date creeps closer and closer, the array of bad marketing practices I encountered at the beginning of this journey are still in play, only this time things are a little different.
After I attended a bridal show in January, I wrote a post about some of the irritating email marketing practices that were flooding my inbox. Vendors wanted my business, and so began the monthly (sometimes weekly) deluge of emails. Now that I have the majority of my vendors selected, the emails have slowed, except of course, for the honeymoon emails.

Interestingly, I did not visit any honeymoon/vacation booking services while at the bridal show. But if it has anything to do with a honeymoon (regardless of location, pricing, or timing), it’s arriving in my inbox. Like I mentioned before, a quick way to end up in someone’s junk folder is to blindly send email without any targeting or personalization.

In addition to honeymoon planning, another task near the end of the bride’s to-do list is to register for gifts. To create my registry, I visited a large national retailer, punched my information (including email address) into a kiosk, and began selecting items. When I returned a few weeks later to complete my registry, all my information was gone.

It had somehow gotten lost in a huge database of registries. The customer service representative in-store was very kind, but unable to find my information. Instead, he suggested I call their 800 number and speak to someone that could access my data for me. Talk about inconvenience.

Rather than wade through the endless loops of a big box retailer’s customer service line, I created another registry.

My fiancé and I finished the rest of the registry without issue (and it’s still there.) When I created the “new” registry, I signed up to receive product update emails for some of the products on the list. I was surprised when I checked my email this week to find a note with the subject line “Important product update from your registry.” The email was meant to tell me that some of the items I had selected were now out of stock, except the “Item description” and “Item number” lines of the message were blank. Below that was a button inviting me to “update your registry.” How am I supposed to update anything if I don’t know which items are out of stock?

The above stories are prime examples of why it’s vital to have a good email marketing program in place with the right partner. The right partner can guide you strategically as well as provide you with the technology to make use of all of your customer data points, so you can provide a personalized, targeted experience every time.

One Trackback/Pingback

  1. […] As my wedding date crept closer, the stream of (mostly poorly targeted) vendor emails slowed, and eventually became replaced by a steady trickle of honeymoon-related email. […]

