When Device Proliferation Hurts Your Campaigns

Patti RennerMy cute husband bought me a new iPad for Christmas. Trouble is I haven’t been able to use it. Between my 13-year-old testing the new SlingBox to watch his vampire shows on it and my oldest pimping it out with way too many new apps, I haven’t had my turn yet. (No fair!) But once I do get my hands on it, you can bet I’ll be using it – and using it to confuse most of the brands I love most, sabotaging their ROI.
Yes, adding the iPad to the already high level of devices in my day-to-day is one more crack in the lens through which marketers see me. Device fragmentation types can cause real confusion for digital marketers trying to reach me, especially those trying to get me to buy. It’s tough to follow people through a traditional purchase path, let alone one that jumps screens more than they jump obstacles on American Ninja Warrior. Once I finally get permission from my kids to use my shiny new Apple, I’ll be opening email, searching, and clicking ads on it, as well as on my good old Android tablet, plus my iPhone, my work laptop, and my home laptop, and our Google TV. That makes a dizzying mix of different devices — and I don’t even consider myself an early adopter. For marketers, it’s easy to lose track of who’s on first and what’s on second. This is the rub as we enter 2013.

This trend of device fragmentation can certainly affect the success of your campaigns. It’s a real problem if you’re trying to achieve higher campaign goals without the data foundation and comprehensive analytics to get you there. For a look at the financial impact of mobile alone on email marketing performance, check out our latest screencast. And if you have any suggestions for getting control of my hijacked iPad, I’m open to ideas.

One Trackback/Pingback

  1. [...] To us, this begs the question of impact of multi-device consumers engaging with campaigns – especially when mobile isn’t a high priority. Mobile is growing… tablets are booming… and the focus for marketers needs to be placed on consistency and quality customer experience of campaigns across a multi-device universe. You can read more about it <a href="To us, this begs the question of impact of multi-device consumers engaging with campaigns – especially when mobile isn’t a high priority. Mobile is growing… tablets are booming… and the focus for marketers needs to be placed on consistency and quality customer experience of campaigns across a multi-device universe. You can read more about it here. [...]

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

